Shiv Nadar University, Delhi-NCR confers honorary doctorate upon Dr. M.K. Ranjitsinh and Dr. Balakrishna Doshi | Shiv Nadar University
Enquire Now
Apply Now
Undergraduate AdmissionsUndergraduate Information SessionInternational AdmissionsM.Tech / PG ProgramsPhD Admission Monsoon 2022MBA Degree ProgramMBA (Executive) AdmissionsMBA (Online) AdmissionsData Sciences and Analytics for Business (DSAB)

Shiv Nadar University, Delhi-NCR confers honorary doctorate upon Dr. M.K. Ranjitsinh and Dr. Balakrishna Doshi

29 May 2022

Shiv Nadar University, Delhi-NCR conferred an honorary doctorate upon two distinguished individuals this year in recognition of their remarkable contributions. The doctorates were conferred upon Dr. M.K. Ranjitsinh, India's leading wildlife conservationist, renowned author, and former bureaucrat, and Dr. Balakrishna Doshi, one of India's greatest architects and the winner of 2018 Pritzker Award.

Dr. M.K. Ranjitsinh

Dr. MK Ranjitsinh joined the Indian Administrative Services in 1961. While being posted in Mandla, he saved the Central Indian Barasingha from extinction. Transferred to Delhi in 1971 as deputy secretary of forests and wildlife in the Ministry of Food and Agriculture he was the prime architect of the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972.

He was the first Director of Wildlife Preservation of India in 1973-75, and served for a second term in 1985-89. Between 1975-80 he ran the UNEP Conservation Office out of Bangkok. Back in India in January 1981, he was appointed Secretary, Forests and Tourism, and Commissioner, Madhya Pradesh where in his 4 year tenure, he established 14 new sanctuaries, 8 new national parks and more than doubled the area of 3 existing national parks, with a total addition of over 9,000 sq. km. In 1985, he was moved to Delhi as joint secretary in the newly created Ministry of Environment and Forests and put in overall charge of Project Tiger. He was also Chairman of the Standing Committee, CITES 1985-86.

Dr. MK Ranjitsinh was appointed India's commissioner on the International Whaling Commission 4 times between 1984 and 1989. He was Chairperson of the Research Advisory Committee of Wildlife Institute of India at Dehradun for many years, Project Director of the Ganga Action Plan, the Chairman of theNarmada Valley Development Authority, and the Director General of CAPART, 1995-96.

Dr. MK Ranjitsinh retired from government service in February 1996. His passion for saving endangered species continued after his retirement, whether in planning the relocation of the Asiatic lion from Gir forest, the reintroduction of the Cheetah into the grasslands of central India, or in saving from extinction the Kashmiri stag, the Manipur browantlered deer and the great Indian bustard.

He has been associated with the major conservation initiatives as a member of the National Board for Wildlife, WWF and UNEP

Dr. MK Ranjitsinh was awarded the Order of the Golden Ark in 1979, and was elected to the Global 500 Roll of Honour of the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) in 1991; was recipient of Maharaja Martand Singh Dev Trust Award (1996) and Maharani Udai Singh of Mewar Award (1998) for his contribution to wildlife and environment conservation.

Dr. Balkrishna Doshi

After finishing his studies in architecture at J.J. College of Arts, Dr. Balkrishna Doshi trained under Le Corbusier and worked with Louis Kahn and Anant Raje. In 1955, he started his own firm in Ahmedabad named Vastu-Shilpa and went on to build more than 100 projects pan-India. Some of his most notable work being IIM Bangalore, IIM Lucknow, NIFT New Delhi and Amdavad ni Gufa, just to name a few.

A fellow of the Royal Institute of British Architects and of the Indian Institute of Architects, Dr. Doshi is also an academic par excellence. He has been the founding Director of School of Architecture, Ahmedabad (1962-72), founding Director of School of Planning (1972-79), founding Dean of Centre for Environmental Planning and Technology (1972-81), founder member of Visual Arts Centre, Ahmedabad and first founder and director of Kanoria Centre for Arts, Ahmedabad.

His outstanding contributions have led to him not only winning the most prestigious Pritzker Prize in 2018, but also the Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1995.

Click here for the images from Convocation 2022