Statutory Bodies

Shiv Nadar University (hereinafter referred to as the University) is sponsored by Shiv Nadar Foundation (hereinafter referred to as the Foundation). The University was established as a private university in 2011 by the Shiv Nadar University Uttar Pradesh Act, 2011 (U.P. Act No. 12 of 2011) duly passed by the legislature of the State of Uttar Pradesh (hereinafter referred to as the Act).

The University is approved by University Grants Commission (UGC) under section 2(f) of University Grant Commission Act 1956. The constitution, powers, and functions of various statutory bodies of the University are enshrined in the Act, Statutes, and Ordinances of the University.  The University functions under the stipulated framework of Court, Academic Council, Executive Council and other statutory bodies, comprising of renowned academicians, bureaucrats and other distinguished luminaries from all walks of life.

Shiv Nadar Foundation is registered public charitable trust, created under the Indian Trust Act 1882 and registered under the Registration Act, 1908.